Types of law

The rule of law is key to the way the British Commonwealth operates on the way to establish a self-governing society based on creative ideology. Any BC action and process is founded on the Commonwealth Framework to enable any citizen of the Commonwealth to participate in the creation of Commonwealth Law to achieve the will of the people as a whole and of each individual.

Legislative acts are adopted following one of the legislative procedures set out in the Commonwealth Framework.

Non-legislative acts do not follow these procedures and can be adopted by bodies of the Commonwealth according to specific rules.

Commonwealth Law with exception only to secondary legislation is considered the law of the land in the sense that it can be enforced by the union government.

Temporary legislation is not considered a legislative act. Laws can be passed only as authorised to do so via the Commonwealth Framework.

Commonwealth Law is made up of seven main groups of law.