Our role

The Supreme Congress is central to the direct congressional democracy of the British Commonwealth allowing for a synergy of direct and representative democracy.

The Supreme Congress works on behalf of the people of the Commonwealth to reform member nations (self-reform), to make and adapt Commonwealth Law (legislation), to check and challenge the work of the union government (scrutiny), to cooperate on topics or objectives (cooperation) and to collaborate on issues (collaboration) as well as to debate the issues and topics of the day (debating).

It is through the Supreme Congress that the union government is made accountable to the people of the Commonwealth.

The Supreme Congress itself has three chambers and six congressional bodies.

The House of Committees, the House of Lords and Commonwealth Senate are the chambers.

Congressional bodies are the Commonwealth and Supreme Commissions, the British Cabinet, The Crown (England), The Commonwealth Crown and the Election Commission.

The Supreme Congress supremacy status is by authority of The Commonwealth Crown.